Does destroying a Lich's phylactery destroy the soul within it?Can a Lich create a new phylactery?Can a lich's phylactery be recreated?How do liches regenerate from their phylacteries?What is the interaction between a lich's phylactery and effects that dispel or suppress magic effects?Does a soul consumed by a lich's phylactery avoid the afterlife?Crafting a Lich's PhylacteryDoes a phylactery keep a devil from getting a soul?Is it possible to destroy a soul?Does a lich's phylactery have to be on the same plane?Discouraging the soul-tradeDoes an intelligent undead have a soul in 5e D&D?
Why is it a bad idea to hire a hitman to eliminate most corrupt politicians?
What is the most common color to indicate the input-field is disabled?
Does int main() need a declaration on C++?
Does Dispel Magic work on Tiny Hut?
Why were 5.25" floppy drives cheaper than 8"?
How to Prove P(a) → ∀x(P(x) ∨ ¬(x = a)) using Natural Deduction
What Exploit Are These User Agents Trying to Use?
Forgetting the musical notes while performing in concert
Knowledge-based authentication using Domain-driven Design in C#
Different meanings of こわい
How seriously should I take size and weight limits of hand luggage?
How can a day be of 24 hours?
How do conventional missiles fly?
Can a virus destroy the BIOS of a modern computer?
Why didn't Boeing produce its own regional jet?
One verb to replace 'be a member of' a club
Notepad++ delete until colon for every line with replace all
Getting extremely large arrows with tikzcd
Why is the sentence "Das ist eine Nase" correct?
Finding the error in an argument
My ex-girlfriend uses my Apple ID to log in to her iPad. Do I have to give her my Apple ID password to reset it?
Can compressed videos be decoded back to their uncompresed original format?
How can I deal with my CEO asking me to hire someone with a higher salary than me, a co-founder?
Processor speed limited at 0.4 Ghz
Does destroying a Lich's phylactery destroy the soul within it?
Can a Lich create a new phylactery?Can a lich's phylactery be recreated?How do liches regenerate from their phylacteries?What is the interaction between a lich's phylactery and effects that dispel or suppress magic effects?Does a soul consumed by a lich's phylactery avoid the afterlife?Crafting a Lich's PhylacteryDoes a phylactery keep a devil from getting a soul?Is it possible to destroy a soul?Does a lich's phylactery have to be on the same plane?Discouraging the soul-tradeDoes an intelligent undead have a soul in 5e D&D?
$begingroup$
The MM entry for a Lich mentions destroying a phylactery is a difficult endeavor but the only way to prevent a Lich from rising again and again.
Does destroying the phylactery destroy the soul within? If not, is there existing lore explaining what happens to a Lich's soul when its phylactery is destroyed?
Lich phylacteries in general can permanently destroy or consume souls fed to it by the required ritual, but presumably the Lich's soul is not one of them so long as the phylactery is intact.
D&D 5e answers preferred, but mechanics and lore from other related systems will be noted for guidelines if nothing in 5e exists on the topic.
dnd-5e undead soul
$endgroup$
add a comment |
$begingroup$
The MM entry for a Lich mentions destroying a phylactery is a difficult endeavor but the only way to prevent a Lich from rising again and again.
Does destroying the phylactery destroy the soul within? If not, is there existing lore explaining what happens to a Lich's soul when its phylactery is destroyed?
Lich phylacteries in general can permanently destroy or consume souls fed to it by the required ritual, but presumably the Lich's soul is not one of them so long as the phylactery is intact.
D&D 5e answers preferred, but mechanics and lore from other related systems will be noted for guidelines if nothing in 5e exists on the topic.
dnd-5e undead soul
$endgroup$
add a comment |
$begingroup$
The MM entry for a Lich mentions destroying a phylactery is a difficult endeavor but the only way to prevent a Lich from rising again and again.
Does destroying the phylactery destroy the soul within? If not, is there existing lore explaining what happens to a Lich's soul when its phylactery is destroyed?
Lich phylacteries in general can permanently destroy or consume souls fed to it by the required ritual, but presumably the Lich's soul is not one of them so long as the phylactery is intact.
D&D 5e answers preferred, but mechanics and lore from other related systems will be noted for guidelines if nothing in 5e exists on the topic.
dnd-5e undead soul
$endgroup$
The MM entry for a Lich mentions destroying a phylactery is a difficult endeavor but the only way to prevent a Lich from rising again and again.
Does destroying the phylactery destroy the soul within? If not, is there existing lore explaining what happens to a Lich's soul when its phylactery is destroyed?
Lich phylacteries in general can permanently destroy or consume souls fed to it by the required ritual, but presumably the Lich's soul is not one of them so long as the phylactery is intact.
D&D 5e answers preferred, but mechanics and lore from other related systems will be noted for guidelines if nothing in 5e exists on the topic.
dnd-5e undead soul
dnd-5e undead soul
asked 2 days ago
MissMisinformationMissMisinformation
2599
2599
add a comment |
add a comment |
1 Answer
1
active
oldest
votes
$begingroup$
No
The simple answer is that destroying the phylactery does not destroy the soul contained inside it, because no game rule in D&D 5th edition asserts that it would.
The lore in the Monster Manual, p.203 suggests that the phylactery is not necessary to protect the soul from injury, but rather to prevent it from passing to the afterlife:
A lich is created by an arcane ritual that traps the wizard's soul within a phylactery. Doing so binds the soul to the mortal world, preventing it from traveling to the Outer Planes after death.
Destroying the phylactery doesn't kill the lich, but only makes it possible to kill the lich, since with the phylactery intact, a slain lich simply re-constitutes at their phylactery:
When a lich's body is broken by accident or assault [...] within days , a new body reforms next to the lich's phylactery [...] Because the destruction of its phylactery means the possibility of eternal death, a lich usually keps its phylactery in a hidden, well-guarded location.
What exactly happens to the soul when the phylactery is destroyed is a mystery (see my answer to Can a Lich create a new phylactery?).
$endgroup$
add a comment |
Your Answer
StackExchange.ifUsing("editor", function ()
return StackExchange.using("mathjaxEditing", function ()
StackExchange.MarkdownEditor.creationCallbacks.add(function (editor, postfix)
StackExchange.mathjaxEditing.prepareWmdForMathJax(editor, postfix, [["\$", "\$"]]);
);
);
, "mathjax-editing");
StackExchange.ready(function()
var channelOptions =
tags: "".split(" "),
id: "122"
;
initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);
StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
// Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
createEditor();
);
else
createEditor();
);
function createEditor()
StackExchange.prepareEditor(
heartbeatType: 'answer',
autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
convertImagesToLinks: false,
noModals: true,
showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
reputationToPostImages: null,
bindNavPrevention: true,
postfix: "",
imageUploader:
brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
allowUrls: true
,
noCode: true, onDemand: true,
discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
);
);
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f144220%2fdoes-destroying-a-lichs-phylactery-destroy-the-soul-within-it%23new-answer', 'question_page');
);
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
1 Answer
1
active
oldest
votes
1 Answer
1
active
oldest
votes
active
oldest
votes
active
oldest
votes
$begingroup$
No
The simple answer is that destroying the phylactery does not destroy the soul contained inside it, because no game rule in D&D 5th edition asserts that it would.
The lore in the Monster Manual, p.203 suggests that the phylactery is not necessary to protect the soul from injury, but rather to prevent it from passing to the afterlife:
A lich is created by an arcane ritual that traps the wizard's soul within a phylactery. Doing so binds the soul to the mortal world, preventing it from traveling to the Outer Planes after death.
Destroying the phylactery doesn't kill the lich, but only makes it possible to kill the lich, since with the phylactery intact, a slain lich simply re-constitutes at their phylactery:
When a lich's body is broken by accident or assault [...] within days , a new body reforms next to the lich's phylactery [...] Because the destruction of its phylactery means the possibility of eternal death, a lich usually keps its phylactery in a hidden, well-guarded location.
What exactly happens to the soul when the phylactery is destroyed is a mystery (see my answer to Can a Lich create a new phylactery?).
$endgroup$
add a comment |
$begingroup$
No
The simple answer is that destroying the phylactery does not destroy the soul contained inside it, because no game rule in D&D 5th edition asserts that it would.
The lore in the Monster Manual, p.203 suggests that the phylactery is not necessary to protect the soul from injury, but rather to prevent it from passing to the afterlife:
A lich is created by an arcane ritual that traps the wizard's soul within a phylactery. Doing so binds the soul to the mortal world, preventing it from traveling to the Outer Planes after death.
Destroying the phylactery doesn't kill the lich, but only makes it possible to kill the lich, since with the phylactery intact, a slain lich simply re-constitutes at their phylactery:
When a lich's body is broken by accident or assault [...] within days , a new body reforms next to the lich's phylactery [...] Because the destruction of its phylactery means the possibility of eternal death, a lich usually keps its phylactery in a hidden, well-guarded location.
What exactly happens to the soul when the phylactery is destroyed is a mystery (see my answer to Can a Lich create a new phylactery?).
$endgroup$
add a comment |
$begingroup$
No
The simple answer is that destroying the phylactery does not destroy the soul contained inside it, because no game rule in D&D 5th edition asserts that it would.
The lore in the Monster Manual, p.203 suggests that the phylactery is not necessary to protect the soul from injury, but rather to prevent it from passing to the afterlife:
A lich is created by an arcane ritual that traps the wizard's soul within a phylactery. Doing so binds the soul to the mortal world, preventing it from traveling to the Outer Planes after death.
Destroying the phylactery doesn't kill the lich, but only makes it possible to kill the lich, since with the phylactery intact, a slain lich simply re-constitutes at their phylactery:
When a lich's body is broken by accident or assault [...] within days , a new body reforms next to the lich's phylactery [...] Because the destruction of its phylactery means the possibility of eternal death, a lich usually keps its phylactery in a hidden, well-guarded location.
What exactly happens to the soul when the phylactery is destroyed is a mystery (see my answer to Can a Lich create a new phylactery?).
$endgroup$
No
The simple answer is that destroying the phylactery does not destroy the soul contained inside it, because no game rule in D&D 5th edition asserts that it would.
The lore in the Monster Manual, p.203 suggests that the phylactery is not necessary to protect the soul from injury, but rather to prevent it from passing to the afterlife:
A lich is created by an arcane ritual that traps the wizard's soul within a phylactery. Doing so binds the soul to the mortal world, preventing it from traveling to the Outer Planes after death.
Destroying the phylactery doesn't kill the lich, but only makes it possible to kill the lich, since with the phylactery intact, a slain lich simply re-constitutes at their phylactery:
When a lich's body is broken by accident or assault [...] within days , a new body reforms next to the lich's phylactery [...] Because the destruction of its phylactery means the possibility of eternal death, a lich usually keps its phylactery in a hidden, well-guarded location.
What exactly happens to the soul when the phylactery is destroyed is a mystery (see my answer to Can a Lich create a new phylactery?).
edited 2 days ago
Rubiksmoose
60.1k10287443
60.1k10287443
answered 2 days ago
Quadratic WizardQuadratic Wizard
31.2k3104167
31.2k3104167
add a comment |
add a comment |
Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!
- Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!
But avoid …
- Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.
- Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.
Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.
To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f144220%2fdoes-destroying-a-lichs-phylactery-destroy-the-soul-within-it%23new-answer', 'question_page');
);
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown